Kat Von D inspired Makeup.

On Wednesday, we were asked to bring in kit that would make someone ‘Beautiful’. This was a hard task for me to take on as I’m a firm believer of ‘Beauty is in the eye of the beholder’. When I arrived to class I was told to do a Cosmo cover style smokey eye. I took inspiration from Kat Von D (Tattooist) as she always has really good smokey eye makeup.

Image
I began airbrushing the face until it was a smooth and even base using the Airbase system. I then shaded and highlighted the face using a matte bronzer and Benefit’s High Beam. I used a deep purple from ELF’s element blushes to colour the cheekbones. I then used Benefit’s Oooh La Lift under and around the eyes then applied Kryolan’s Supracolour as a concealer to hide some veins around the eye area and to create a base for the eyeshadows. To do the eyes I used the 120 palette, Beginning with a very light beige with a shimmer to it, I applied this on a flat brush all over the lid and crease, then the inner lower lash line. I then went into the crease and upper outer lash line with a metallic grey on two different brushes, one long fluffy brush, one angled liner brush. I then extended it to half way along the lower lash line. After this I applied a matte black into the crease on a small brush then blended it out with the same fluffy brush I used for the grey. Following that I applied the same black along the outer corner of the lower lash line. I then applied  ELF’s Gel Eyeliner in Blackest Black to the water line and the lash line on a very thin, long handled brush so that you have more control of the brush by resting it on the curve of the thumb. I then filled in the eyebrows using Cresty’s semi permenant brow cake in Irid Brown. I then used the Illamasqua method of highlighting eyebrows (Using concealer in a downward motion from the brow. This creates a sharper line.).
After this I finished the face with Kryolan’s translucent powder on a powder puff. For the lips, I applied a Red lipliner all over the lips, emphasizing the cupid’s bow.

Image

Leave a comment